Featured artist: Shannon Crees

Aboriginal Consultative Committee

Featured artist: Shannon Crees
You are here:


Marrickville Aboriginal Consultative Committee (MACC)

Archived page

This page contains information about a former committee that was dissolved with the merger of Marrickville Council into Inner West Council on 12 May 2016.

Visit the Inner West Council website for information about the newly formed Strategic Reference Groups, which serve a similar role to the former Marrickville Council advisory and consultative committees.

Acknowledgement of Country

We meet today on the traditional land of the Cadigal Wangal People of the Eora Nation. I acknowledge their care of the land over many generations. I celebrate their ongoing achievements in today's society and acknowledge the terrible wrongs that have been committed against the Aboriginal peoples of Australia.

Culture and heritage

There are many different groups within the Australian Aboriginal community. The traditional Aboriginal Groups of Inner West Sydney/Marrickville region are the Cadigal Wangal clans of the Eora nation.

Cadigal land lies south of Port Jackson and stretches from South Head to Petersham with part of the southern boundary lying on the Cooks River. On the western border lies the territory of the Wangal clan, which extends along the southern shore of the Parramatta River to Parramatta.

Suburbs close to the city such as Glebe are also the home of the Cadigal and Wangal ancestors and the surrounding bushland was rich in plant, bird and animal life with fish and rock oysters available from Blackwattle Bay. For a fuller description of the areas traditionally owned by the Cadigal Wangal people please visit their website at http://www.cadigalwangal.org.au.

The Marrickville Aboriginal Consultative Committee (MACC)

The Marrickville Aboriginal Consultative Committee (MACC) was established in 1994 to advise Council on the needs of Aboriginal people living in the Marrickville Local Government area.  In 1996 Council was proactive in the reconciliation process when a Statement of Commitment (see downloads below) to Aboriginal Australians was endorsed. 

The role of the committee is to:

  1. Promote an increased knowledge and understanding of Aboriginal culture and society in the wider community and develop the interests of Aboriginal people in the local area;
  2. Advise Council on issues relating to Aboriginal people;
  3. Act as a representative of Council on issues relating to the Aboriginal community; and
  4. Advise on the development and implementation of Council's Aboriginal Services Strategy under the Belonging In Marrickville Social Plan and other relevant plans (Aboriginal Belonging Plan).

Click the link below to download the Committee's Terms of Reference:

2016–17 committee members

  • Nardi Simpson (Chairperson)
  • Gail Pencheff
  • June Christian
  • Elizabeth Ingram
  • Lucy Simpson
  • Cath Renwick
  • Allan Barnes
  • Maree Walford
  • Clr Sylvie Ellsmore

Committee meetings

The Committee meet bi-monthly on Monday evenings between 5.30pm and 7.30pm. Dates for the 2016 meetings are:

  • 19 February 2016
  • 18 April 2016
  • 20 June 2016
  • 15 August 2016
  • 17 October 2016
  • Annual General Meeting (date to be confirmed)

The meeting venue is the Function Room at the Council Administration Building, Level 3, 2–14 Fisher Street, Petersham.

Download minutes and agendas


Enquiries regarding the Committee should be directed to Council's Strategic Community Project Officer – Aboriginal Inclusion: